Discussing the Value Map

In my previous post I created a value map for the Cambridge Center for Families. A department of the Cambridge city government that was created with the mandate of educating and connecting parents in the Cambridge Area. My value map focused on the existing services that are provided for new parents. The other corresponding customer profile for this map would be a new parent. The Cambridge Center for Families has resources for all parents, but new parents are a specific sub-set of that group.

I decided to focus on the Cambridge Center for Families because it is a service that I had direct experience as a new parent in Cambridge, and I had the intuitive feeling that I had been served well by them. Creating the value map, I realized that while I appreciated the services provided by the center, it didn’t provide, or at least didn’t focus on the areas that are the biggest pain points for new parents. Approximating a customer profile, my wife and I’s biggest pain points as new parents and in my son’s first two years were lack of sleep, lack of access to child care, nursing difficulty, lack of peers to connect with and feeling lost regarding the best way to parent on a broad variety of issues.

The activities provided by CCFF addressed some of these issues. They provided education resources on parenting, and linked to further resources. They provided some group activities for parents to connect. But they didn’t address the biggest pain points, and those they did, the solution was at best incomplete. Leaving aside the elephant of sleep deprivation in new parents, child-care is a problem that could be addressed in some degree by the Cambridge center for families leveraging it’s existing capacity. They already serve as a network for parents, and as a source for directing resources. After two years of being a parent, I have found that most child-care I have used has come from my personal network. By leveraging their own parent network CCFF could help to alleviate one of the biggest pain points for new families. The value mapping process helped to identify this potential new service, and diagnose an area where a good organization could be even better.

Leave a Reply

